Lighting Up Chanukah

image

image

image

image

image

The holidays are upon us. There’s no doubt about that. And in a week I will be back home, having a unique holiday in that my husband and I will be celebrating both Christmas and Chanukah with my family this year. To get myself in the Chanukah spirit before I’m in Salt Lake City, Utah and further deluged with Christmas trees and Santas and the lights at Temple Square, I went out and bought arguably the most beautiful and expensive book I have ever invested in: Chanukah Lights by Michael J. Rosen and the undeniably amazing Robert Sabuda.

Telling of Chanukah in places both exotic (a ship) and expected (a shtetle), the book that subtly displays Jewish diversity in a way that I rarely see in books or any other media. Jews celebrate Chanukah on the sea, in. the city, in the desert…and even in Utah, believe it or not.

Leave a Reply

