Why Not Me?

whynotme

Why Not Me?
Mindy Kaling
Crown Archetype
September 2015

In her first book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Mindy Kaling explored friendship, college, being broke in NYC, and breaking into the TV business. Four years later, she is talking about only slightly more grown up things like dating; writing, acting, and running her own TV show; dealing with haters; and a speech she gave at Harvard Law School (?). She continues to be a charming mix of shallow (but not as shallow as a lot of people in L.A., as her story of being friend with Greta illustrates) and insightful in a way that makes you want to drink a bottle of wine and binge watch Netflix with her to forget all the crap going on in the world for one blissful evening. Also being her best friend gets you into some sick parties. My favorite part of the book is the final chapters where she explores self-confidence, anxiety (particularly the 4 a.m. variety, with which I am intimately familiar), and hard work.

At times I felt a little out of touch with the book because I’ve never watched more than a commercial of The Mindy Project. Also I feel old, even though I’m several years younger than Mindy, because she refers to celebrities I have never heard of as though I’m supposed to be like “I love that celebrity’s style” or “yeah, that actor is totally hot!” I couldn’t even muster the energy to Google them because I really just didn’t care. The White House staffer she kinda dated and B.J. Novak were way more interesting to read about than anyone else she mentioned anyway.

Read alikes

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari
Bossypants by Tina Fey (still the gold standard by which I judge every other comedian’s book)
Yes, Please by Amy Poehler

Leave a Reply

